On the same terrain, Toon Aerts was propelled last season to the overall triumph in the World Cup. This Belgian cyclist will come to win again.

He might do just that because Wout Van Aert will be absent due to bad injuries sustained while involved in the time trial for the Tour de France this July. Also, Mathieu van der Poel will pass the race for he is focused on the UCI Road World Championships.

Aerts who ride for Telenet-Fidea will be the head of the Belgian representatives. He will come to Iowa City’s competitions with Quinten Hermans, his team colleague, two competitors from Pauwels Sauzen Bingoal, Michael Vanthorenhout and Eli Iserbyt, as well as Tom Meeusen, form Corendon-Circus.

The American team will be headed by the U.S. champion Stephen Hyde, and the recent winner in Rochester, Pan Am champion, Curtis White.

As for the women’s lineup, names like Katie Compton, U.S. best, Ellen Noble, Jolanda Neff, Rebecka Fahringer, Katerina Nash, will be there. They will try to defeat last year’s victorious Katie Keough. Also, Pan Am champ Maghalie Rochette and Evie Richards, the previous world champion will participate.

Talented Duch cyclists Sophie de Boer and Maud Kaptheijns arrived to raise the suspense. However, Sanne Cant, world champ, chose to miss the kickoff races.

UCI cyclo-cross World Cup 2019 will be held from Friday, September 13 to Sunday, September 15.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *